Posted in Learning and Development

Rubrics, Parte Dos

Per my previous post, I have completed the assessment process, via a rubric, for my Spanish 1-7 projects. They were asked to create a digital story, aka slideshow entitled, “Todo Sobre Mi.”

Given that students in the middle school where I teach are not required to sit for a traditional final exam, but are expected to have some sort of project which signals closure to the term and to the year, I like to assign tasks which allow students to use the Spanish they have learned to write and to speak.  I also like the idea of students getting up and presenting before a group, as the idea of oratory and public speaking seem to be by-gone skills in today’s educational process.  And, since the idea, in a language class least, is to use what one has learned for real purposes, such projects are the best way to go, I have found.  Besides – it’s real and personal, aka authentic.

The rubric I used for the aforementioned worked reasonably well.  The project and the rubric were both items I had adopted from another Spanish teacher, and found I needed to amend the rubric a bit for my purposes. For example, there were no categories for assessing grammar or spelling. Which I found interesting. I mean, why wouldn’t these be assessed? In our post-modern K-12 education system, many teachers, and teacher educators, seem to be phobic when it comes to assessing these skills.  On the other hand, they are key skills whenever language is being produced.  I realize I differ from many of my colleagues – English and foreign language alike – which adhere to invented spelling and not marking too firmly – if at all – with respect to grammar and spelling. But, correct spelling and correct use of grammar directly impacts how the language looks and sounds, no matter how much or how often educators try to ignore or lesson their impact and importance.

Now, on to Spanish 4…

 

 

Author:

I teach. I cook. I write. In that order. Along the way, I learn many things, especially about myself.

Leave a Reply

