Posted in Learning and Development, Writing

Rubrics

My relationship with rubrics is up and down.  There are times when I can appreciate their value and their usefulness.  And then, there are other times when presenting a rubric to students for a given assignment gives me the feeling that I am removing all forms of creativity and original thought from their hearts, minds and souls, for the rubric has told them so.

Well, I guess, at this moment in time, my view of rubrics is up, and I can appreciate their value and usefulness.  But, it was not my own initiative which has spurred these thoughts and feelings.  A student from one of my two Spanish 4 classes, asked if there would be a rubric for the final exam project.  I hemmed and hawed. Then the student added, ” I need a rubric so I can aspire to do my best work.”  Thus one of the reasons why    I don’t possess full love and admiration for rubrics.  After all, isn’t aspiration to do one’s best work inherent and self-guided?

I created a rubric for the project in question.  My student asked for one, and, since I am compliant, and serve (mostly) at the pleasure of my students, I dutifully created one. I am fairly happy with it, but, I wish I had had more time to reflect and ponder on it.

In fact, I used said rubric this morning, as each student presented.  And while I may go back and adjust some of my scores slightly, it did, in fact, facilitate the assessment process.  To my surprise.

I am now getting ready to roll out my second rubric; this time, for my Spanish 1-7 students.  I will let you know how things go.