Posted in Personal Development

Personal Best Series: A Healthy Nighttime Routine

 

I am perhaps the least likely of people to be writing a blog post on how to get a quality
night’s sleep. Havinimagesg been an insufferable insomniac for the majority of my adulthood, the nights I truly sleep well, and awake refreshed and rested the next day, are few and far between.

So, I have tried to identify those things that seem to be working for me, and which seem to be contributing to a more restful sleep.

  1.  Don’t allow the remains of the day to linger on your skin and teeth.  Wash your face. Brush your teeth.   The idea of clean skin and a fresh mouth not only relax  my spirit, but also begin the restoration and rejuvenation processes.  It also simply allows me some degree of closure to the day in a positive way.
  2. Think positive thoughts, and/or pray.  These actions help me to re-connect with my spirit and my soul, and to communicate inwardly and outwardly. I reflect on the good things that occurred during the day, and on the possibilities of the future.
  3. Disconnect – literally.  Turn off the lights. Turn off the technology.  Shut it down.  Go to sleep.

What other ideas do you have for a healthy nighttime routine?

Author:

I teach. I cook. I write. In that order. Along the way, I learn many things, especially about myself.

Leave a Reply

