Posted in Learning and Development

Blizzard Bags

This post isn’t about blizzard bags specifically. On the other hand, for those of us who live and teach in geographical localities where harsh winter weather is par for the course for about 4 months out of the school year, and with the guarantee of a few days of cancelled classes, winter weather triggers the question as to how students will make up those missed days of learning.

Well, obviously, they can’t.  A bunch of photocopied packets of worksheets does not replace an 80-minute class.  I also don’t believe in assigning students work for the mere fact that they’re home, all day, and what else are they going to do, anyway frame of mind.

Given that many of my students are busy, sleep-deprived, and constantly teetering on the brink of illness, I tie off the missed class, and allow them to do whatever they want to do, without any interference from me.  Which, in my opinion, is what a true snow day from school should be.  At least, it is for me. Why shouldn’t it be for the students?

Having said the aforementioned, if the situation moves from one snow day to say,two or more, then I do need to assign some work. But, it’s rarely a worksheet.  And, I like worksheets. I do. I just view a series of snow days as offering more learning opportunities than that. Especially for acquiring Spanish.  And, especially for my advanced-level students.

So, my dear students, on this snow day: Rest up, eat up, and, get caught up, if needed. I will see you soon.

Author:

I teach. I cook. I write. In that order. Along the way, I learn many things, especially about myself.

Leave a Reply

