Posted in Writing

End of #EverydayInspiration Writing Challenge, and, First Day of School

Hi, Everyone!

I am EXHAUSTED.  That being said, it was a very good first day.  I was nervous and anxious. More so than in previous years. There was some caregiver stress, not to mention that I had not planned, in a concrete way, the first day of school lesson plans. Additionally, I was dealing with post nasal drip.

I don’t know what it is about the first day of school. But, those lesson plans set the tone for the remainder of the school year.  This is not to say that I don’t plan with deliberation for all of the other days.  On the other hand, for the first day, I consider my plan with even greater diligence and conscientiousness. It’s like a gift from an exclusive store.  Or, a homemade meal, prepared with the best ingredients, everything cooked from scratch.

Anyway, I arose early – 5:00 am – with the intent of working out.  Did. not. happen.  In fact, I hit the snooze button repeatedly, until I finally relented, and arose from the bed at 5:45 am.  At which point I surfed the Internet for first day lessons for Spanish 1, grade seven, and Spanish 4, which were the three classes I taught today.

For Spanish 4, of which I teach two sections, we began with the students completing personal index cards.  On the cards, I asked the students to supply the following information: Name, date of birth, favorite activities, reasons and goals for taking Spanish 4, and parent contact information.  This information was written on the whiteboard, in Spanish. We then proceeded to this activity, steps 1-5. My goal was to go slowly, provide lots of comprehensible input, provide lots of repetition, and enjoy getting to know the students.  Then, the students did a walk-around activity, using a bingo grid containing questions in Spanish re: things they like and like to do. The last activity consisted of creating lists in Spanish, for five different topics, using the preterite verb tense. So, a lot of connecting, movement, and interaction.  It was perhaps the best first day of Spanish 4 I have taught. The students were highly engaged, yet relaxed.

For Spanish 1, grade seven, the students also completed personal index cards.  For the first activity, we completed this activity.  We then did a series of activities with Spanish cognates, culminating in the students searching for their own examples of the same.  At this point, it was time for the students to get out of their seats: an activity to review colors.  I call it, “Toquen”, or “Touch.” I use it to review Spanish color words.  I say, for example, “Toquen rojo”, with rojo meaning the color red.  The last activity was one to review classroom-related words.

So, that was my first day. And, before I forget, I am no longer participating in the #EverydayInspiration Writing Challenge. In as much as I enjoyed it, I felt restricted by the process, and not liberated by the process, as I experienced with the #My 500 Words Writing challenge.  Although I do dislike not finishing what I started, it was necessary to do.

I am truly appreciative of and grateful for the wonderful language teachers who share their  lessons plans with the rest of us.

That’s all for now.

 

 

Author:

I teach. I cook. I write. In that order. Along the way, I learn many things, especially about myself.

3 thoughts on “End of #EverydayInspiration Writing Challenge, and, First Day of School

Leave a Reply

