Posted in Writing

The Space to Write: Day Five of the #EverydayInspiration Writing Challenge

For years, I was unable, and for whatever reason, to wrap my mind around the idea of writing on a desktop computer or a laptop computer. As a student in middle and high school, I prepared and submitted hand-written essays.  In college, I wrote in long-hand form on a legal notepad the entire text of whatever it was that I was writing, and then typed the document using a manual typewriter.  Yes; I actually owned a manual typewriter, throughout high school and college. And for several years thereafter.  In fact, I did not own a personal computer until 1994, when I enrolled in a full-time Master of Education program. And the only function that little guy was able to perform was word processing.  Nevertheless, I used it for about six years, it served its purpose well, and never presented me technical issues.

Fast-forward to the present time, 21st century: I am now a fully initiated laptop user. Having owned desktop computers for about ten years, it wasn’t until I was hired by my current school in 2005 that I was issued a workplace laptop computer.  And it’s been love ever since.

So…where do I write? Although my laptop affords me the flexibility to write virtually anywhere, I prefer the serenity of home.  Depending on whether I am at the family compound, or in my own apartment, determines the actual physical space.  When I am at the former, I write on the burgundy chaise lounge in the living room, or, on the black leather sofa in the basement family room.  When I am at the latter, however, I like to prop myself up in bed, or, kneel on the edge of the bed, as I am doing as I write this blog post.  Don’t ask me why, but, when I was I in college, I became accustomed to this particular configuration for writing.  For whatever reason, it has not yet failed me as a comfortable and favored position for writing.  In fact, I even prefer kneeling on the side of the bed to lying on the bed itself.

I don’t typically listen to music, or watch television, while I write.  On the other hand, I do like to listen to Internet radio broadcasts via YouTube.  And, I typically have several browser windows open: one for YouTube, one for Twitter, and one for email.

The time of day when I write varies.  Right now, for example, I am writing at 7:33pm, EST.  I rarely write in the early morning, which is when I actually prefer to write.  But, I had to decide between writing at 5 am, or, doing my treadmill workout at 5 am.  I decided that the treadmill workout at 5 am would have a greater impact on the quality of my physical, mental and emotional well-being.  Besides, once I arrive home from school, which on most days os 5pm, I am in no condition to even contemplate a workout, even an abbreviated one.  So, I often end up writing between 8 and 10 pm.  More often than not, it is closer to 10 pm. Which is late, but, I also find it is a good time for reflection, and, I am able to compose something within a fairly short period of time.

Are you a writer? What is your space for writing?

And, before I forget, I invite all of my readers to help me with a task by doing the following: What would you like me to write about in the future? Please send me a message on my “Contact” page, and suggest a topic for a future blog post.  That’s it!  I thank you for considering, and for your assistance.

 

Author:

I teach. I cook. I write. In that order. Along the way, I learn many things, especially about myself.

Leave a Reply

