Posted in Writing

Why I Write: Day One of #EverydayInspiration Writing Challenge

I am embarking on yet another writing challenge.  Since the previous writing challenge in which I participated concluded, I feel my desire to write daily on my own volition has lost some of its momentum.  Primarily because a daily writing challenge prompts me…well… to write, every day.

So…why do I write?

I write because I am a deeply reflective person.  I write because I have things to say.  I write because I have things to say that are not always appropriate to verbalize, or tweet.

Speaking of tweeting:  A social media social justice warrior is not at all what I envision for myself.  And yet, I have found myself in that very position on more occasions than I care to count, let alone remember.  Therefore, I feel my blog is the best platform for me when I desire to step up on my proverbial soapbox.

I write to share ideas that may be useful to others.  I write with the goal of inspiring and motivating others.  I write about mistakes I have made, so that perhaps others may learn from them.  I write when I am feeling vulnerable. When I communicate my fears, I feel better, and, perhaps along the way, I may help someone else to feel better, too.

I write because there are things I care about. I write when I am trying to make sense of events and situations.  I write because things happen in life, and, writing is often cathartic.

I used to write to gain and maintain an audience. That worked for awhile.  A long while, in fact. But, being vulnerable and entertaining at the same time not only became old, it also became exhausting.  Eventually, I ran out of things to say. My posts became fewer, and the gaps of time between posts grew longer. Then, I stopped writing.  Now, I write for myself.  Still, I want to create a connection with those who visit my blog, and read my posts.

I write on days when I don’t quite feel like writing. But when I do write, and hit the “Publish” button, I experience a total and complete feeling of accomplishment.  It’s a lot like those days when I don’t feel like working out: the best part is the end of the workout, when I am walking out of the fitness center.

I write because I want to improve my skills as a writer. Writing wasn’t always easy for me. When I was a senior in high school, and, during my first two years of college, I developed a writing anxiety.  I had no confidence.  Additionally, my writing had to be perfect. Thinking back on the situation now, it was because I was trying to fulfill someone else’s goals and expectations of what I should write, and how I should write it.  In fact, I was so anxious, I would ask teachers and professors to read what I had written before turning it in. Then, the hammer fell on me the fall of my sophomore year of college: A history prof told me he would not preview my paper. I was truly crushed.  He did, however, offer me ideas in the form of resources for shaping my thesis statement, and supporting my argument.  I didn’t realize it then, but, what that prof gave me was a tremendous gift of liberation. And, that’s when my skill and confidence as a writer really took off.  But, as they say, I digress.

Those are the reasons why I write.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

I teach. I cook. I write. In that order. Along the way, I learn many things, especially about myself.

2 thoughts on “Why I Write: Day One of #EverydayInspiration Writing Challenge

  1. Although many have similar reasons for writing, it’s nice as a reader to ‘hear your voice’ in conveying your reasons. I’m maybe feeling slightly homesick and so didn’t answer your day3 question as i was stuck for words. I’m completing the tasks day by day myself currently and so avoiding reading posts for the tasks ahead – although I did this challenge previously and so repeating anyway. I’ll have a quick flit while i’m here distracting myself from what i planned to be doing this afternoon – your blog looks very well organised, crisply neat and tidy 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi, Colette! I appreciate your comment. Unfortunately, I bowed out of the challenge. I had just come off of a 30-Day Writing Challenge, and was feeling energized and inspired. Which was a lesson: Allow one challenge to ride its wave for a time, before beginning another. Just didn’t have it in me at the time to continue, but, perhaps will resume it at some point. Wishing you all the best with it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

