Posted in Writing

Moving From Beginning to Advanced

In my previous post, I presented a list of what I call “classic” readings on diversity/inclusion/equity/social justice/multiculturalism/anti-racism for the novice-level professional.  Today, I present readings which provide more of a learning curve, and are rooted in historical perspective.  Again, these are considered classic reads, including The New Jim Crow, as it is the first book of its kind.

The Zinn Reader

A People’s History of the United States

Lies My Teacher Told Me: Everything Your American History Textbook Got Wrong

Uprooting Racism

Privilege, Power and Difference

Slavery By Another Name: The Re-Enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness

A Different Mirror: A History of Multicultural America

Have you read any of the above books? Are there others you would recommend? Let me know in the Comments.  Thank you!

Author:

I teach. I cook. I write. In that order. Along the way, I learn many things, especially about myself.

Leave a Reply

