Posted in Writing

A Long Time in the Making

Hi, Friends.

Recently, a piece I wrote was published here.  The piece was a long time in the making. I am truly very proud of this accomplishment.  Back in December of 2015, an editor from Teaching Tolerance Magazine approached me about writing a piece.  She had perused my then-blog, and thought that my writing would resonate with the Teaching Tolerance readership.  Although I was certainly impressed and flattered by the invitation, it was daunting as well.

Winter turned to spring, and, still, no article.  Then, the fodder for a piece presented itself lat in the spring, as I explain in the article.  Following an extensive vetting and editing process, for which I am greatly appreciative – it not only speaks to the very high standards of Teaching Tolerance Magazine, but it also challenged me to become a better writer – I was informed via email that my article was published on 8 August 2016.

So, if you haven’t had a chance to read my article, I invite you to do so.

Speaking of Teaching Tolerance Magazine:  It is a most wonderful resource for teachers who desire to promote diversity, inclusion, activism, anti-racism and multiculturalism in their classrooms and schools. I was first introduced to Teaching Tolerance by an equally wonderful professor during my first semester of graduate studies back in 1994.  I have been a faithful reader ever since.  Back in the day, it was a hard copy print magazine, that was issued two to three times per year.  Now, Teaching Tolerance is online, and includes a blog.

I am grateful to Teaching Tolerance, their editors, my blog readership, my Twitter tribe, and my dear friend,colleague, and partner-in-crime, R, of 20 years, who encouraged me several years ago to seek outlets for my voice.  I am truly blessed.

 

Author:

I teach. I cook. I write. In that order. Along the way, I learn many things, especially about myself.

4 thoughts on “A Long Time in the Making

  1. Congratulations!
    It is a succinct and thought provoking article. I like the point about the need for reflective self-examination to determine our ‘cultural competency’ and how to strengthen it. Likewise, the need to accept that it will be a messy process – we will err, but that is all part of the learning. Empathy is the key. To continue your fitting tree analogy, acorns spring to mind.

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting. I appreciate the kind compliments. I also like your suggestion of acorns. It is very fitting, in light of the theme of the article.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

