Posted in #My500Words

This and That and a Third

 

I’m exhausted. I completed two wonderful days of a language teaching workshop.  It was intense, inspirational and intellectually stimulating, and I plan to post about it soon.

Until then, here’s another list post.  It’s not #500Words, but, I did fulfill my daily goal of writing.  I hope you enjoy it.

Five Random Facts About Myself:

  1. I like to watch movies in bed on my laptop computer. A dear friend thinks it’s silly.
  2. I wore braces, and a night brace.  Fortunately, I wore both for 1.5 years, instead of the projected 2 years.
  3. I sometimes sleep on the floor.  I don’t find it uncomfortable at all.
  4. I suffered from hypothyroidism, as well as a serious anemic condition, at the same time. 
  5. I have Power Puff Girl dolls of each of the characters, given to me by my Dear Brother.

 

Four Things From My Bucket List:

  1. African safari to South Africa with my Dear Brother.
  2. A week in Bora Bora, lodging in a hut on stilts, enjoying coconut drinks, lounging on the beach, and receiving daily massages.
  3. Visiting one or more national parks in the United States, and traveling there by train.
  4. Writing a book – more like a memoir, I think.  It will be a very special book.

 

Three Things I Hope For During the 2016-17 School Year:

  1. Renewed relationships with my colleagues.  I am very demanding – of myself, and of others. Consequently, my pursuit of perfection doesn’t afford others the benefit of the doubt.  I would like to demonstrate greater patience with and acceptance of my colleagues.
  2. A language learning experience for my students that fosters growth, proficiency and fluency via a new method of teaching that reaches more students.
  3. Further develop my skills and expertise as a workshop presenter, and creating a niche for my workshops.

 

Two Things That Have Made Me Laugh Or Cry As An Educator:

  1. My students are uncanny in their ability to inspire humor of all kinds.  Even on my worst days, it brings a smile to my face.
  2. The time a student mis-understood something that I said, and felt the administration did not support me.  It hurt me profoundly.

 

One Thing I Wish More People Knew About Me:

Although I appear aloof and distant, I am really a very fun person to be with.

 

 

 

 

Author:

I teach. I cook. I write. In that order. Along the way, I learn many things, especially about myself.

2 thoughts on “This and That and a Third

Leave a Reply

